CFP - Special Issue Progress in Supramolecular Nanotheranostics

Guest editors:

Xiaoyuan (Shawn) Chen (NIBIB/NIH)
Email:

Gang Zheng (University of Toronto)
Email:

Jianjun Cheng (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign)
Email:

Yi-Yan Yang (Institute of Bioengineering and Nanotechnology, Singapore)
Email:

This special issue will broadly cover current and emerging supramolecular nanotheranostics. Supramolecular biomaterials exhibit unique properties in theranostic applications compared with the conventional artificial biomaterials, attributing to the dynamic and responsive nature of non-covalent interactions. For example, the poor solubility and stability of chemotherapeutic drugs in physiological environment can be effectively solved by taking full advantage of supramolecular chemistry and nanotechnology. By the formation of host–guest complexes with macrocyclic hosts, the anticancer drugs can be easily formulated to prepare nanomedicines showing satisfactory anti-tumor efficacy and reduced normal organ toxicity.

We therefore intend to highlight this topic in the special issue "Progress in Supramolecular Nanotheranostics". We are highly interested in the following topics but not limited to:

  • Molecular recognitions and host-guest chemistry
  • Stimuli-responsive supramolecular self-assembly
  • Bioorthogonal supramolecular catalysis
  • Supramolecular diagnosis
  • New imaging methods based on supramolecular chemistry
  • Supramolecular chemotherapy and theranostics
  • Controlled supramolecular drug delivery

Only review articles will be considered. For more information on the journal and its style, please refer to “Instructions for Authors” at http://thno.org/ms/author. All the invited and contributed manuscripts will undergo the standard peer-review procedure of the Journal “Theranostics”, and will be scrutinized by the guest editor(s) and at least two additional expert reviewers in the field. The deadline for proposal is set for November 30, 2018, the full manuscript submission DEADLINE is set for January 31, 2019 and the first decision will conclude within 6 weeks from submission after peer-review process.

Manuscripts for the special issue should be submitted online at http://www.thno.org/ms/submit (mark "Supramolecular Nanotheranostics Special Issue" in the "Suggested reviewers" field to identify the paper).

All inquiries should be sent to the guest editor(s) at the above email address.

Currently committed contributors:

Gang Zheng (University of Toronto, gang.zheng@uhnres.utoronto.ca)
Xiaoyuan (Shawn) Chen (National Institutes of Health, Shawn.Chen@nih.gov)
Bengang Xing (Nanyang Technological University, bengang@ntu.edu.sg)
Kanyi Pu (Nanyang Technological University, kypu@ntu.edu.sg)
Matthew Webber (University of Notre Dame, mwebber@nd.edu)
Ying-Wei Yang (Jilin University, ywyang@jlu.edu.cn)
Zhimou Yang (Nankai University, yangzm@nankai.edu.cn)
Angela Casini (Cardiff University, casinia@cardiff.ac.uk)
Gang Liu (Xiamen University, gangliu.cmitm@xmu.edu.cn)
Xuehai Yan (Institute of Process Engineering, yanxh@ipe.ac.cn)
Xinyuan Zhu (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, xyzhu@sjtu.edu.cn)
Zilong Zhao (Hunan University, zlzhao@hnu.edu.cn)
Gaurav Sahay (Oregon Health Science University, sahay@ohsu.edu)
Dongsheng Guo (Nankai University, dshguo@nankai.edu.cn)
Vincent Rotello (University of Massachusetts at Amherst, rotello@chem.umass.edu)
Ben Zhong Tang (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, tangbenz@ust.hk)
Chunhai Fan (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, fanchunhai@sjtu.edu.cn)
Yanli Zhao (Nanyang Technological University, zhaoyanli@ntu.edu.sg)
Jiwei Cui (Shandong University, jwcui@sdu.edu.cn)
Jeffrey Zink (UCLA, zink@chem.ucla.edu)
Bing Xu (Brandeis University, bxu@brandeis.edu)